“I do not merely love Rayya; I am in love with Rayya.”

Elizabeth’s Gilberts Blog

 

Five years of following Elizabeth Gilbert’s spiritual growth after being introduced by her  inspirational story: Eat Pray Love, not only had I been fully inspirited by it , Miss Gilberts life had surprised me once more, when she had announced she had fallen in love with her best friend of fifteen years Rayya Elias. She specified in her blog that she

: “was faced with this truth: I do not merely love Rayya; I am in love with Rayya.”

The story of falling in love with someone who has been in your life for years and you not realizing is not uncommon story .Yet, she had fallen in love with a member of the same sex and never stating that she was into women  was more the wonderment. Nonetheless in a pleasant bewilderment- It showed just how much magic in our hearts is waiting to erupt, exposing newfound earthly experiences.

I was left with questions that I intended to outline myself:

Did Ms G know all along that she was gay?

I think not to be fair, after two marriages, to both of which were men, I feel as though them marriages prepared her for her relationship with Rayya. She simply becomes more and more herself. I think she was more taken aback as we are. I splintered in and out of thoughts though because I wondered why this happened so much later in her life. The more free the spirit the more it’s been allowed to reach to anyone, despite their gender form.

And …

Can it happen to anyone?

Why yes of course! Falling in love with someone was never based on gender but character. As a spiritual being I realize how much, when we choose love we are open total experiences following that road. There are many more celebrity examples. I once remember reading an article where Cynthia Nixon stated that when she had fallen for her beau Christine Marinoni and that it was her choice to be in a gay relationship’. Being with someone of the same sex is just a bombshell when we know that person not to have been gay all along. Ellen DeGeneres wife: Portia De Rossi was married to Mel Metcalfe (a male) before marrying Ellen.  I know that when Portia met Ellen she stated that (and I paraphrase) she had felt all feelings announced in love songs and poetry. It was that real.

Being heterosexual myself, I wondered whether this could happen just as out the blue as it happened to all these women.  Really, now I look at it. I had never really chosen the men I have fallen in love with. That did just happen out of pure empowering emotion I had felt towards them. Elizabeth Gilbert described her feelings as: ‘a trapped door that opened at the bottom of her heart where her entire existence fell through’.

Falling in love inhales us profoundly. Some may argue that you have a choice. You don’t have to go see them, call them, spend time with them, but who really can budge the force of a deep seated ecstasy? If this happened with a woman it sure would be a jolt to me.

Love doesn’t have an AGENDA- it happens out of the blue and love just loves.  Love doesn’t have a GENDER . Being gay isn’t a disease. If one happens to fall in love with a member of the same sex unexpectedly, then so be it.  Love just loves.

 

 

Leave a Reply

